Isol-8 – The Maytree Offer

The folk at Maytree Press understand that these are extraordinary and extremely worrying times for many people and would like to send some love out into the world. If you’ve found that you’re having to self-isolate or are looking for that perfect gift for family and friends then why not take advantage of their limited offer.

Pop over to Maytree’s on-line shop now where you can purchase eight Maytree poetry pamphlets for a special price of only £40.00. This includes free UK postage.

Please let Maytree know if you’d like to take advantage of this offer but have already purchased individual pamphlets and they’ll refund the difference.

Look after yourselves.

Best wishes

The Maytree Team.



Green Fields

Welcome to Green Fields – an anthology of poems celebrating the music festival.

Submissions are now invited for this exciting new collection due for publication by Maytree Press in Spring 2020. Edited by poet, Nick Allen and David Coldwell.

Whether you are inspired by the music, art, nature or simply the wild abandonment of loosing yourself in the freedom of a music festival, we want to hear from you. From abandoned fields, mysterious lay lines, the haze of Woodstock, sunsets over Glastonbury,  to the joy of star filled skies and camp fire songs, we’re confident that you’ll find inspiration to join us on this journey.

Your poem should be no longer than 30 lines (not including line breaks and title).

Previously published poems are accepted so long as there are no restrictions to publishing rights, etc. Please confirm this with your submission. We are unable to offer any payment for any of the poems.

Please submit up to three poems as a Word attachment to

Please title your submission as Green Fields Submission.

You have up to the 30 December 2019 to submit. I’m sorry but we are unable to consider submissions following this date and your work will go unread.

All successful poets will be notified by the 28 February 2020. If you have not heard from us by this date then you can assume your poem has not been selected for the collection and is now free to submit elsewhere. A full list of selected poets will be published on the Poetry Village site.

Each poet featured in the collection will receive one free copy (subject to payment of postage and packing) and will be offered the opportunity to read their poem at a special launch event planned for early summer – more news on this later. Unfortunately we are unable to cover any expenses incurred.

Featured poets will be able to purchase additional copies of the anthology at a discounted price.

Entry is free but we do welcome your donations – if you can afford £2.00 we would be very grateful, simply press the PayPal button and follow the instructions. Please also take a look at our shop and consider buying a Maytree Press title.

Good luck and we look forward to reading your poems.

Nick and David.


A little about our editors…

Nick Allen

nick allen photo

Last year Nick was twice runner-up in international poetry competitions and was highly commended in the OWF Otley ‘wildlife’ competition. His first pamphlet, the necessary line, was published by Half Moon Books in October 2017. His first collection, the riding, was published in August 2019 also by Half Moon Books. His collaboration with artist, Myles Linley, between two rivers, was published as a limited edition pamphlet by Maytree Press in September 2019. He talks to poets in darkened rooms at the back of pubs and sometimes feels enlightened.

You can find out more about Nick’s work here


David Coldwell

david coldwell

David is an artist and writer based in the village of Marsden, West Yorkshire. He created The Poetry Village (initially as a community project) back in 2016 before expanding the idea in 2017 to incorporate on-line publishing and live events. 2019 saw the launch of Maytree Press, where David works as resident editor, artist and designer. The Poetry Village is a non-profit organisation working to promote poetry and literary events. You can find out more about David here.


The Cotton Grass Appreciation Society

The Cotton Grass Appreciation Society has arrived and is now available to order from our on-line shop – Shop

All orders received in July receive a free art card featuring our wonderful cover image, The Cotton Path by David Coldwell. Don’t miss out on your First Edition copy of this wonderful collection featuring:

Ken Evans, Ben Banyard, Georgie Woodhead, Roy Marshall, Mark Totterdell, Cheryl Pearson, Gill Lambert, Peter R White, Carola Groom, MW Bewick, Ian Harker, Alicia Fernandez, Gaia Holmes, Simon Armitage, Neil Clarkson, Sarah Pritchard, Amanda Huggins, Graham Ramsden, Sarah Watkinson, Sarah Dixon, Gene Groves, Rosemary Badcoe, Jack Faricy, Anne Steward, Cora Greenhill, Lisa Holmes, Tim Taylor, Tom Weir, Helen Angell, Sarah James, Clint Wastling, Gill McEvoy, Jo Haslam, Heather Cobb, Sandra Burnett, Sally Brown, Hillary Robinson, Hannah Stone, Penny Sharman, Linda Goulden, Tracy Dawson, Alison Lock, Matthew Walsh, Nick Allen, Penny Blackburn, Peter Burrows


tcgas preorder

The Society

The Cotton Path

We are delighted to announce the full list of contributors to our very special anthology, The Cotton Grass Appreciation Society. Thank you to everyone who sent a poem. We had a huge response and were absolutely delighted by the diversity of the work. As well as open submissions, we asked a small number of poets who we admire to contribute and we’re thrilled to announce that alongside these submissions, the new Poet Laureate, Simon Armitage, will also feature.

The book will be published by Maytree Press on the 01 August 2019 with an official launch event during the Marsden Walking Festival in September. Profits raised from the collection will go towards helping Marsden Walkers are Welcome continue their important work in promoting the health benefits of walking whilst looking after the 64 miles of Pennine footpaths that surround the village of Marsden.

The Society:

Ken Evans 

Ben Banyard 

Georgie Woodhead 

Roy Marshall 

Mark Totterdell

Cheryl Pearson 

Gill Lambert 

Peter R White

Carola Groom

MW Bewick

Ian Harker

Alicia Fernandez

Gaia Holmes

Simon Armitage 

Neil Clarkson

Sarah Pritchard

Amanda Huggins

Graham Ramsden

Sarah Watkinson

Sarah Dixon

Gene Groves

Rosemary Badcoe

Matthew Walsh

Nick Allen

Penny Blackburn

Peter Burrows

Sandra Burnett

Sally Brown

Hillary Robinson

Hannah Stone

Penny Sharman

Linda Goulden

Tracy Dawson

Alison Lock

Helen Angell

Sarah James

Clint Wastling

Gill McEvoy

Jo Haslam

Heather Cobb

Jack Farcy

Anne Steward

Cora Greenhill

Lisa Holmes

Tim Taylor

Tom Weir